CERN Accelerating science



IdeaSquare Advisory Board


IdeaSquare is a dedicated facility at CERN that also offers a platform for generic detector (pre) R&D and related educational activities, aiming to create in parallel societal impact. These joint activities are executed under the GRADE MoU (Generic detector pre-R&D At CERN IdeaSquare) framework.

The ISAB-G reviews the annual progress of the GRADE and activities carried out or supported at IdeaSquare. In order to assess the project progress and offer its conclusions and recommendations.

The members of the ISAB, and its Chair, are appointed by CERN’s Director for Research and Scientific Computing.


  • Members
    Ekman Kalevi

    Kalevi “Eetu” Ekman is professor of Product Development in Aalto University. He is also the Director and Founder of Aalto Design Factory, an experimental co-creation platform for education, research and application of product design ( . His activities focus on integrated product development process and interdisciplinary co-creation between engineers, designers and business professionals. Eetu is also the driving force behind the Design Factory Global Network that connects 40 Design Factories on five different continents.

    Ekman Kalevi Factory manager at Aalto Design Factory
  • Members
    Erika Garutti

    Erika Garutti Professor of experimental particle physics
  • Members
    Ezri Tarazi

    Ezri Tarazi is full professor, chair of the Design Graduate program, chair of Technion Hub for innovation, and Design-Tech Lab, at the Technion IIT Israel. Tarazi is a world renown industrial designer and researcher, a founder principal of Tarazi Studio since 1996. His professional practice is in wide-ranging areas from design-art to design for Hi-Tech. He has been shown an experimental design in the top museums of the world. He is an award-winning designer with international reputation and was working in the firm IDEO from Palo Alto and was co-founder of its office in Israel from 1998 - 2002. He has been involved in a variety of startup ventures in multiple industries such as renewable energy, medical equipment and consumer products and has initiated and designed innovative products with global distribution. He is the author of 7D (2013) book, presenting a unique approach for Ecosystem-Centered Design approach, where his current research lab is focused on 3D printing of coral reef’s ecosystem.

    Ezri Tarazi Chair of t:hub, Technion innovation and entrepreneurship center
  • Members
    Mar Capeans

    Mar Capeans is Senior Scientist at CERN (Geneva, Switzerland). She holds a PhD in Particle Physics from the University of Santiago de Compostela (Spain), and an MBA in Management of Technology from the EPFL and the University of Lausanne (Switzerland).

    She joined CERN in 1992 and has participated in the design and construction of particle detectors for large experiments at CERN. She has had several managerial positions at CERN; in 2021 she is appointed Head of the Site and Civil Engineering Department.

    She has published more than 1000 scientific articles in the field of High Energy Physics and Instrumentation, is editor of the Journal of Instrumentation (JINST), and serves as advisor in Scientific Councils and competitive funding programmes.

    She is a frequent public speaker for general audiences and students, and is engaged in outreach and training activities for students and teachers.

    Mar Capeans CERN Management Representative
  • Members
    Michela Magas

    Michela Magas bridges science and art, design and technology, and academic research and industry. She is Chair of the Industry Commons Foundation, innovation advisor to the European Commission and the G7 leaders, and Member of President von der Leyen’s High Level Round Table for the New European Bauhaus. Michela is the Founder and CEO of Stockholm-based MTF Labs and has over the past 10 years been feeding policy directly from grassroots experimentation with its global community of 8000 contributors from the sciences and the arts. In 2017 she was awarded European Woman Innovator of the Year and in 2016 she was presented with an Innovation Luminary Award by the European Commission and Intel Labs Europe.

    Michela Magas Chair, Industry Commons Foundation, innovation advisor to the European Commission and the G7 leaders, and Member of President von der Leyen’s High Level Round Table for the New European Bauhaus
  • Members
    Sijbrand De Jong

    Sijbrand de Jong is dean of the faculty of Science of Radboud University in Nijmegen, the Netherlands, and a professor of experimental physics.

    He has been active in the collider physics experiments ZEUS at HERA at DESY, OPAL at LEP and ATLAS at the LHC at CERN and Dzero at Tevatron at Fermilab and is still active on the ultra-high-energy cosmic rays Pierre Auger Observatory and the future GRAND Observatory. He has experience in educational projects and established the Radboud Pre-University College of Science. He has also been active in several managerial and governance roles, such as board member of the Dutch physics funding agency (FOM), director of the Radboud School of Physics, director of the Institute for Mathematics, Astrophysics and Particle Physics at Radboud University and as the Dutch CERN Council delegate and later the elected President of the CERN Council. He has been on many advisory committees, including the LHCC.

    Sijbrand De Jong Dean of the Faculty of Science of Radboud University, Nijmegen the Netherlands